Real Madrid beat Osasuna to win Copa del Rey for 20th time

The 2-1 victory over Osasuna in the final helped Real Madrid secure their 20th Copa del Rey championship title. They had been waiting for this title for 9 years.

Real Madrid beat Osasuna to win Copa del Rey for 20th time

After defeating Barcelona in the semi-finals, Real Madrid was the favorite to win this year’s Copa del Rey championship. Facing Osasuna in the final, Real Madrid quickly took the initiative and dominated the attack.

Real Madrid’s pressure was realized in the 2nd minute with the opening goal. Vinicius broke through and passed to Rodrygo, who scored from close range against Osasuna’s goalkeeper.

In the following minutes, both teams played an exciting back-and-forth game. Although Real Madrid had more ball possession, their attacking moves were simple and predictable, making them vulnerable to Osasuna’s defense.

Osasuna had 9 shots on goal in the first half, with 4 shots on target, but failed to score. The first half ended with a 1-0 lead for Real Madrid.

In the second half, Real Madrid lacked concentration and Osasuna was more aggressive in their attack. In the 58th minute, Lucas Torro scored a powerful long-range shot to equalize for Osasuna.

However, Rodrygo once again became the hero for Los Blancos in the 70th minute. After Kroos’ shot deflected off an Osasuna defender, the Brazilian forward was there to score and put Real Madrid ahead 2-1.

Osasuna pressed hard in the last 20 minutes, but they couldn’t score and had to accept a 1-2 defeat. With this victory over Osasuna in the final, Real Madrid secured their 20th Copa del Rey championship title, the latest of which was in 2014.

Team Squad

Real Madrid: Courtois, Carvajal, Militao, Alaba, Camavinga, Valverde, Tchouameni (Rudiger 69′), Kroos (Modric 82′), Rodrygo (Asensio 89′), Vinicius, Benzema

  • Goal: Rodrygo (2′, 70′)

Osasuna: Herrera, Moncayola, Aridane, David Garcia, Juan Cruz, Torro (Kike Garcia 86′), Moi Gomez (Ibanez 86′), Pena (Ruben Garcia 75′), Oroz, Ezzalzouli (Barja 75′), Budimir (Avila 70′)

  • Goal: Torro (58′)”

Visit us at Football Terms to read more soccer news!

Related Articles

Back to top button